Kinzi’s Frenzy

By Kinzi Kaiser

Black Friday is a national event in America that occurs the Friday following Thanksgiving. Retail stores drop their prices to the lowest of the year.

Now, I’m not one to turn down a great deal. I do my fair share of shopping, but Black Friday is a ridiculous shopping event created to kick off holiday sales.

Black Friday really takes away from the significance of Thanksgiving. Many stores have begun starting their sales as early as 8 p.m. on Thanksgiving night. Businesses are considering larger profits rather than their employees’ time with their families. It seems selfish for companies to deprive their associates of valued family time on a holiday just for their own greedy pleasure.

Black Friday takes away the giving of thanks between families from Thanksgiving. In a sense, it shows how society is more focused on flat screen televisions and gaming consoles than precious family moments.

I work in a clothing store and I know how crazy customers can get on any regular business day. In no way am I even the least bit excited for the special day of the year where I get to deal with tired, unpleasant and money-crazy holiday shoppers. Employees should never have to fear going to their job, but there has been reason in past years for people to fear Black Friday.

People stoop to the lowest of levels on Black Friday. Not just from pitching tents and sleeping outside stores, but people get into serious fights on Black Friday. People shouldn’t have to fear shopping at a sale.

There was an incident in 2008 on Black Friday when a Wal-Mart employee was trampled to death by shoppers. A woman in California pepper sprayed innocent shoppers wanting to buy an X-box.

Some consider Black Friday to be a holiday. However I would rather not take away any single moment I get to spend with my family. I respect a good sale, but Black Friday has become ridiculous, and even unsafe in some cases. This year, let’s take a stand and focus on our family time again.

