January’s Tigress of the Month

image1

By Katlyn LaPorte

In recognition of her many cheerleading accomplishments, Ashli Hellman is the female athlete of the month for January.

Hellman was born on Oct. 19, 1997.

She lives with her Mom, Lisa, and they have two pets; a dog, Simba and a cat, Siete.

Hellman maintains a 3.6 GPA. Her favorite subject in school is English.

After she graduates from high school, Hellman plans to attend college at NJC first and then transfer to Colorado State University.

Hellman has been a cheerleader since her freshman year. She has been a flyer, a spotter and a base.

“The best part of cheer is the bonds that we make as a team,” said Hellman. “The worst parts are the summer practices, and saying goodbye at the end.”

The cheer team took first place at their Patriot League Spirit Competition in Strasburg and fourth place at the State Spirit Competition in Denver this school year.

“My favorite cheer memory was taking first at Strasburg,” said Hellman. “Obviously the biggest thing I am going to miss about cheer is seeing my cheer members’ faces every day and being able to have them there when I am having a bad day.”

Hellman says her biggest supporters are her mom, Amber Finlayson, Pj Holtzhauser and the cheer squad.

Advice Hellman has for the underclassman is to enjoy it while you can because before you know it, it will be over.

Shopping, yoga, and going to antique stores are just a few of Hellman’s favorite hobbies.

Hellman loves the movie The Great Gatsby and the book Memoirs of Geshia. Her favorite food is Chinese.

“My favorite high school memory is winning homecoming queen,” said Hellman. “What I will miss the most about high school is not seeing the people I have grown up with my whole life every day.”

A quote that Hellman loves is, “I hope she’ll be a fool-that’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.”

Hellman’s role model and idol is her mom.

“My mom is my role model because she shows me that with determination and hard work, I can achieve anything. She has always been there for me when I feel weak and she gives me the strength to pick myself up again,” said Hellman.

Two shout-outs Hellman would like to give are to Amber, for being with her from day one, and to Ms. Maul for being the best coach she could ask for, and teaching her things about herself she didn’t even know.

 

