A Whole New World of Possibilities

 

By Sevil Mamedovi

Sevil's storyBeing an exchange student means there is a whole new world opening up to you. Life is not only about what you see and do in your own country, hometown or school. An exchange year brings you adventures, challenges and new connections, and you realize how big of opportunities there are in front of you.

First of all, it is a big honor for me to be the finalist of the Future Leaders Exchange Program (FLEX program). I thank FLEX for choosing me because I have so many opportunities. Being an exchange student opens up new doors for you, if you are willing to open them. That’s how I got the chance to meet people from all over the world. I got to see life from a different perspective.

I am very thankful for my Placement Organization ASSE/World Heritage for finding me such a great host family. Becky, Chad and Connie Gassaway  are my second family in America. Thanks to them, I had my first and best American holidays, like Thanksgiving and Christmas. We always have so much fun together. We always make plans about traveling and we have already traveled to seven states and it has only been half of my year here.

And of course one of the most important and most significant parts of my American experience is American high school. It is such a great experience for me because American high schools are so different compared to Georgian high schools. One difference is that in Georgia, students are usually the ones who stay in classrooms and teachers usually change the rooms. Because of this, we have our classes with the same group of people. Here you have classes with different students every period, which I think makes you more social.

Also, at SHS you can choose the classes that you want to take and that you will enjoy taking. There are lots of after-school clubs that you can join and if you are athletic you can always join sports.

I will never forget the experience that I had during Homecoming week; it was so new and different for me. I really enjoyed going to the football games of our school, voting for the Homecoming king and queen and so on.

This is only half of my exchange year and I have enjoyed every single day of it. I have an amazing host family, great teachers and awesome friends. Being an exchange student means a whole new world of opportunities.

      “Exchange is not a year in your life, it is a life in a year.”

