A Dominant Season Calls for a Closer Bond

By Gracie Bacon

With every sport comes a special bond. Sterling High School boys’ basketball season has been having an exciting season with a record of 11 wins and two losses.

Head coach Mike Holloway asserted, “I expect my team to have fun and get better as the season goes on. I have been head coach for 13 years and hope to keep coaching. I think there are way too many funny memories this season to have a favorite one.”2

Senior Davis Lebsock also expressed his feelings about this year’s basketball season. “This season I have scored roughly around 20 points a game. I have been playing competitive basketball for ten years. Other than that, I have been playing ball all my life.” Lebsock also mentioned, “I am happy with my team and this season because we are a tight knit team and we have a legit shot at being state champs and we all get along perfectly to where it makes the season fun. The funniest memory for me this year is the bus rides without a doubt.”

Junior Wade Kellogg shared his fondness of this season, “I normally score an average of 19 points a game. I have been playing basketball all of my life. I’m pretty happy with this season because we are good and function very well together. I think the funniest memory of this season was when Chas crossed over on a kid from University.”1

Sophomore Brayden Lambrecht added in, “I am pretty happy with this season because we won most of the games so far. The highest amount of points I have made in a varsity game is eight points. I have been playing basketball since second grade. The absolute funniest memory of this season would be being interviewed at the Country Club on Wednesday nights with Wade.”

Last, but not least, freshman Isaac Harris who has had the opportunity to play varsity this season expressed his thoughts on the subject. “The most points I have made in a varsity game is ten points. I have been playing basketball for 11 years. I am pretty happy with this season because we communicate well and are a close team. For me, the funniest memory of this season was when Chas crossed over on the guy from University.”

