Savvy Sydney

By Sydney Goldenstein

School isn’t about education anymore; it is about getting good grades and passing classes, and that increases the overall pressure of a student.

As a junior in high school, the pressure of getting high marks to be accepted into a respected university is the biggest root to all of my stress. I feel as if each school year passes faster as I come closer to my senior year, to the point where it seems as if many subjects I previously learned have passed through one ear and out the other.

I feel like high school has so much stress to it and students aren’t able to learn according to their “style” or the way they need to be taught.

On test days, it’s rare that I don’t enter my classroom anxious and full of anxiety. I get butterflies in my stomach as I attempt to recite in my mind the notes I had intensely studied the night before after procrastinating all week. In the last minutes before being handed the test, I notice some of my peers crumbling up tiny pieces of paper and hiding them in their hands. They were cheat sheets.

It’s common to see this form of cheating these days, along with many other tactics. Some students will even memorize answers, but they never truly learn them. These are only a few examples of ways students attempt to pass their courses.

According to Stanford.edu, statistics show that cheating among high school students around the world has risen dramatically during the past 50 years. Julia Christensen Hughes of the University of Guelph and Donald McCabe of Rutgers University in New Jersey surveyed approximately 15 thousand undergraduate students at 11 universities in 2006. They found that 73% admit to cheating in high school and over 53% admit to continuing this practice in college.

In the article Understanding Academic Misconduct, Hughes and McCabe found that cheaters are frequently the best students in a class, because they cheat to get an A.

Often times a student will memorize a subject top to bottom, but once the unit is over and the class moves on with their learning, they forget what they previously learned to ace a test.

Students are doing whatever it takes to get a “good grade.” Grades, rather than education, have become the major focus of many students.

 

