Kickin’ It With Katlyn

By Katlyn LaPorte

On April 4, 2016, the love of my life since I was nine, Justin Bieber, came to Denver for one of his many stops on his Purpose World Tour. This was the third time I got the privilege of seeing Justin Bieber in concert and I was more than excited.

The first Justin Bieber concert I went to was in June of 2010. It was for his first ever tour, called My World. The second one I went to was in January of 2013, a stop in his Believe World Tour. These were both incredible concerts, but each one was very different from the others.

Leaving Sterling the day of the concert was almost exhilarating. Only a few more hours until I again got to watch my favorite performer. We arrived at the Pepsi Center in Denver around 5:30 and the doors were to open at 6:30. Lines were so long the ends weren’t even in sight; luckily, we found some friends from Sterling who let us hop to the very front of the line with them.

Once we finally got inside, there were fans galore. Thousands of girls and boys of all ages crowded the venue, on the escalators, buying t-shirts and running to find their seats. It was one hour until concert time.

Around 7:00 we made it to our seats. There was only thirty minutes until show time and I was so pumped. There were purple and blue lights lighting up the entire venue. Girls were filing in by the hundreds wearing clothes plastered with Justin Bieber’s face and taking pictures with the stage in the background.

Finally at 7:30, the concert began. First was one of the openers Moxie Rava. I had never heard of her in my life. Second was the rapper Post Malone. That was pretty exciting. But then, finally, around 8:30 it was time for Justin Bieber.

The whole stadium went completely dark; all you could see was camera flashes, and all you could hear was thousands of screaming girls and the background music of his first song. Then he appeared, flying up through the bottom of the stage.

Bieber performed for about an hour and a half. He sang both new songs, and old songs. Some included “Baby”, “Boyfriend”, “Sorry”, “What Do You Mean”, “Love Yourself” and more. It was so stimulating I did not even realize how fast time was flying by. I had so much fun with my best friend, singing along, dancing, and of course taking a ton of snapchat videos.

After the concert, I could not speak and was still on cloud nine from all the excitement. I could not have asked for a better night.

Justin Bieber

