April’s Tiger of the Month

By Katlyn LaPorte

For his four years of hard work and commitment to track, the male athlete of the month for April is senior Todd Hodges. Hodges was born on Dec. 18, 1997. He is the son of Troy and Nikki Hodges, along with his sister Kelsey. He has one dog named Dempcey.

Hodges is one of the few senior boys on the Tiger Track and Field team this year.

“The best thing about track is meeting a ton of new people and the worst thing is having meets every Saturday,” said Hodges.

His favorite track memory was going to state freshman year for long jump.

“My best meet was at UNC because I set my PR for long jump there.’Todd Hodges

Hodges’s PR for long jump is 19’ 9.5’’ and his PR for triple jump is 40’.

This year Hodges will go to state to compete in long jump, triple jump and the 4×1 relay.

His advice to the underclassmen on the track team is, “Don’t take everything too seriously.”

Hodges’ favorites include the movie Division Three, the TV show Better Call Saul and steak. His favorite class is auto tech because everything is hands on.  His favorite sport is track and his favorite athlete is Ryan Dungey. His favorite hobbies include motocross, hunting and fishing.

“My role models are my parents because they work hard to make sure I have what I need to succeed,” said Hodges. “My inspirations are people with disabilities that prohibit them from doing anything they want by themselves.”

“I pretty much operate on adrenaline and ignorance,” said by Johnny Knoxville, is his all-time favorite quote.

“My goals for the rest of high school are to get over ‘senioritis’ so I can graduate,” said Hodges.

He plans on attending college at Northwestern Lineman College in Denton, Texas.

In 10 years he sees himself hopefully starting a family and working as a lineman.

 

 

