September’s Tigress of the Month

By Katlyn LaPorte

For her many years of hard work and dedication to volleyball, the Tigress of the month for the month of September is senior Jessica Holloway.

Her parents are Mike and Shannon Holloway. She has an older brother, Josh, and two sisters; one older and one younger, Kyleigh and Sadie. Another important part of her family was her late dog Max.

Holloway has been playing volleyball since she was in the second grade. Her biggest supporters are her parents and grandparents because they cheer her on during every game and come to every game they are able to.

“The best part of volleyball would be playing with the people I do because we all get along and have fun on the court. The worst part would be running suicides at practice,” said Holloway.

jessica-holloway
Photo Courtesy of Jacqui Mitchek

Looking forward, Holloway’s goals for this season are to make it to regionals, then state and make it as far as they can and do the best that they can.

“My favorite volleyball memory would be winning this year and last year in the most intense games against Fort Morgan in five sets,” said Holloway. “I want to give a shout out to Katlyn LaPorte for making me a sign and supporting me at my game.”

Aside from athletics, Holloway is also a great student. She maintains a 3.8 GPA and her favorite subject is English.

“My future goals are to attend college and just see where this last year of high school takes me and what it has to offer. I’m not sure where I want to go to college yet, I’m looking at a few but I haven’t decided on one yet,” said Holloway.

Holloway’s favorite things to do are play volleyball and hang out with friends and family. Her favorite foods are spaghetti and pizza. She enjoys horror movies, and her favorite is Scream, and her favorite TV show is Grey’s Anatomy. Christmas is her very favorite holiday. Her favorite high school memory is making it to Nationals in Atlanta, Georgia for FBLA.

The quote that she lives by is, “When God pushes you to the end of difficulty, trust him fully because two things can happen, either He will catch you when you fall or he will teach you how to fly.”

“My advice for underclassmen would be to just have fun. Make the best of the four years you have before you have to go out into the real world and adult. They aren’t lying when they say it goes by fast. Be yourself and don’t let anyone treat you less than you deserve. Just enjoy it while it lasts,” said Holloway.

“In ten years I see myself having a career and working and possibly married” Holloway exclaimed. “We will see.”

 

 

tan-zone2

 

