Ask Abby

By Abby Cross

Being a senior is something that almost every high schooler looks forward to. The thing is though, you get there before you even know it. It feels like just yesterday I was freaking out about it being my first day of freshman year and only a few months ago, I had my last first day of high school.abby8srp

Whenever I would hear people talk about how fast high school is going to fly by, I didn’t listen. You don’t think about those kinds of things when you’re a freshman or sophomore. You’re more focused on finding out who you are, which is not a bad thing. The main social point of high school is to find out who you are, where you fit in, and who you want to be. The best thing to do is join every club you can and do any sports that even remotely interest you. Go to all the dances, get your homework done, and have the time of your life on the weekend.

Once I hit senior year, I noticed a difference in my stress level. Yes, I’m still stressed over homework, a little bit, but usually I don’t have very much. I’m stressed about scholarships, college, money, and graduation. During the summer before senior year, you think you have SO much time to get all this stuff done, but pretty soon, it’s Christmas and deadlines for college and scholarships are up.

The best part about being a senior is the freedom you receive. You get to leave campus to go to college class, you get waivers, and in my case, I no longer have a curfew. At this point, you start to feel what it is like to be an adult and to have pretty much all of the freedoms of being on your own, but with the cushion of having your parents close by.

I would say the scariest part of being a senior is all of the responsibility you acquire. You’re responsible for applying for college, scholarships, and financial aid. All of this can be super stressful but once you get it done, it feels great!

It’s crazy to think that in just 6 months I’m going to be graduated from high school and preparing for the beginning of my adult life. I am so scared but I can’t wait.

