December’s Tiger of the Month

By: Katlyn LaPorte

briednbach

For his ferocity on the wrestling mat and outstanding leadership, senior Jake Breidenbach is December’s Tiger of the Month. Breidenbach was born on Oct. 2nd, 1997 to his parents Doug Breidenbach and Mary Butcher. He has one sister, Cionne. Breidenbach has been wrestling since he was in the second grade. His biggest supporters are his parents.

Breidenbach placed 6th at the state tournament in 2015. Already this season he has taken first place at their first two tournaments in Columbine, and in St. Francis, KS.

“The best part of wrestling is getting your hand raised after a tough win and the excitement of how you and your team do,” said Breidenbach. “The worst part is how hard it is on your body physically and mentally.”

“I wrestle 138 as of right now but I plan on wrestling 132 after Christmas. My goal for this wrestling season is to place in the top three at state,” said Breidenbach. “One goal I had was just to place at state before I graduated but since I’ve done that my new goal is to win state.”

“My favorite wrestling memory is just wrestling with my friends and making it to the third day of the state tournament and placing. My favorite high school memory is going to all the wrestling tournaments with my friends and my teammates,” said Breidenbach.

“I want to give a shoutout to my teammates on the wrestling team cause we are going to kick butt this year,” exclaimed Breidenbach.

As of right now Breidenbach plans on attending NJC but he’s not sure yet if he will wrestle collegiately or not. Aside from wrestling, his favorite thing to do is hang out with friends. His favorite food is pizza and his favorite subject in school is math.

A quote that he lives by is, by Dan Gable, “Gold medals aren’t really made of gold. They’re made of sweat, determination, and a hard-to-find alloy called guts.”

Breidenbach’s advice to underclassmen is, “If there is something you want then you must be focused, put in the work, not be scared of failing, and not have any excuses.”

