January’s Tiger of the Month

By Katlyn LaPorte

For his hard work and talent on the court, senior Mike Chavez is January’s Tiger of the Month.

Chavez was born on July 14, 1998 to his parents Jeff and Kristy Chavez. He is one of three triplets with Kylie and Austin Chavez and he has an older brother, Drew Mari. The family has a dog named Scooter.

Chavez has been playing basketball since he was in the first grade. His mom and dad are his biggest supporters.

“The best thing about the basketball season is that it’s my favorite sport. The worst thing about this season is that it’s my last year,” said Chavez.

“My favorite basketball memory is poker nights with the boys and Carter,” said Chavez. “My best overall high school memory is playing basketball with the seniors last year.”

“My senior year basketball goal is to win state,” said Chavez. “One of my goals for this season was to make a three and I already did that.”

Chavez wants to give a shout-out to all his basketball boys.

A quote that Chavez lives by is from Wayne Gretzky, “You miss 100 percent of the shots you don’t take.”

Chavez also played football all four years of high school and competes in track and field.

“I like playing sports because they keep me active,” said Chavez.

“I don’t have any future sports goals. I don’t plan to continue playing sports in college,” said Chavez.

Chavez’s favorite hobby is hunting. He loves eating at Wonderful House and he enjoys watching Netflix. His favorite holiday is Christmas.

Chavez maintains a 3.5 GPA. His favorite subject in school is Composition I. After high school he plans on attending Northeastern Junior College.

“In ten years I see myself with a hot wife and a lot of money,” exclaimed Chavez.

His advice to the underclassmen of SHS is, “Always work your hardest and prove your haters wrong.”

