Tiger Scholar of February

By: Kirsten Hernandez

Ethan Farquhar has been selected as Tiger Scholar, due to his outstanding academic excellence. He participates in both high school and college band as the lead trumpet player. He also participates in jazz band where he is also lead trumpet player. Farquhar plans to graduate with a 3.2 GPA. Once Farquhar has graduated from SHS, he plans to attend Northeastern Junior College for a semester to finish his associate’s degree. Afterwards Farquhar plans to attend the University of Northern Colorado to finish his college career.

Farquhar plans to major in music production, he said, “I have always been musically inclined, and I love how technology has incorporated itself into the music industry.” In 10 years Farquhar said, “I see myself with a good degree, a job producing and engineering music and living with my girlfriend.”img_0307

Farquhar’s favorite teacher is Mr. Lippstrew which is also his role model. Farquhar said, “Mr. Lippstrew is the kind of musician and role model I’d like to see myself as in years to come.” Farquhar’s favorite subject in school is algebra, but he said, “I have also always liked English.” His favorite memory from high school was going to prom with his girlfriend Ella.

Outside of school Farquhar enjoys lifting weights, playing bass and hanging out with friends on the weekend. He is the oldest out of five children, he has three sisters and one brother. Farquhar’s favorite quote is by Robin Williams in his favorite film Good Will Hunting, “You’ll have bad times, but it’ll always wake you up to the good stuff you weren’t paying attention to.”

Farquhar’s favorite book series is the Circle Trilogy by Ted Dekker. His favorite type of food is Italian. When it comes to holidays, Farquhar said, “My favorite holiday is Christmas, because so much of my family participates.” Farquhar also said, “If I could go back in time the only thing I would do differently is turn in my math mates.”

A last piece of advice to  underclassmen before he graduates is to be involved and give academic classes as much focus as possible.

“Being ahead in classes really pays off,” he said.

