Spring Musical “Annie Get Your Gun”

By: Amela Nevaljalovic

Spring musical is organized every year at Sterling High School. It is usually produced by a choir/theater teacher and every year auditions are held for student who are interested to be part of it.

This year’s musical was chosen to be “Annie Get Your Gun” and it was important musical because this year was the first musical without Mr. Johnson being in charge. Annette Lambrecht, a new theater/choir teacher was in charge of the entire production of the musical.

Main role was given to junior, Kori Penfold. “When I found about the lead I was sure surprised because I thought that another girl was going to get it. In total, there were 5 girls auditioning for the role of Annie Oakley.”  This wasn’t Kori’s first lead because she had it in last year’s musical and in couple of summer musicals before that.

“The best part of the entire for me was the fact that it came together so well. The others were never prepared to this extent” said Penfold, “ the biggest  obstacle was memorizing all the music because basically I sang the whole thing.”

The musical involved dancing, singing and acting and for a lot of students this was not a big issue. “Coordinating all three was not too hard because I have been doing it since I was little”, said Penfold.

The rehearsals for the Musical “Annie Get Your Gun” began in the second week of January and then they had the show in the first week of April. The Musical was presented to the audience for three nights in a row.

 

“Miss Lambrecht did very well, she was super organized and prepared” said Penfold.

A lot of freshmen students got an opportunity to participate in the Musical. One of them was Darcy Trump. “ I didn’t try out for a specific role, they just assigned me a minor role but it still incolved singing and dancing” said Trump “this is not the first time for me being in a high school production of a Musical, even though I am a freshmen. I did a lot of it in middle school too.” Darcy was in a Musical with her twin sister Camryn. “It was very fun working on a Musical with my sister, especially because we both had a similar act.” “Miss Lambrecht did a really good job and we had a lot of amazing moments on the set”, said Trump.

Some actors had a bit of a more different role. For instance couple of female students had to play a role of a male. One of those were juniors Mary Ritter and Julia Ssessanga. “For me, it was a last minute thing and they told me that there were not enough people so I just did it” said  Ritter “the hardest thing when playing a man was actually having to pretend to keep up a deep voice and hiding the chest.” The play took about a month of preparation and Mary said “ Miss Lambrecht did good for her first high school production of a musical and overall the outcome of the people was great!”

The show ended its three-night run on Saturday, April 8th.

 

