Kickin it with Katlyn

By Katlyn LaPorte

Senior year is something I have been waiting for my entire life. It really did come and go so quickly. At the beginning of this year, college and graduation were just things that we talked about; now they’re a reality. It doesn’t seem real that in two weeks I’ll be getting my diploma, throwing my cap in the air, and spending one final day at Sterling High School with the people I’ve grown up with. It is so surreal that after seeing them every day for so many years, I may never see some of them again. It’s so hard to comprehend that only a year ago I had no idea what I wanted to do or where I wanted to go. Now I am set on studying criminal justice at the University of Northern Colorado, in Greeley next fall.

Senior year has brought so many emotions along with it. I’m STRESSED, but I’m also happy. I’m so scared but I’m also SO excited. I don’t know if anyone is ever really ready to leave home and move away from their mom (I know I’m not), but I’m sure ready to give it a shot.

It feels like only months ago I was getting ready for the first day of my freshman year. Four years really goes by faster than you could ever imagine. High school has had its ups and downs for me, like I’m sure it has for all my fellow classmates. You meet people in high school who will change your life forever. I couldn’t be more thankful for the people I got to spend my last year here with.

No one really tells you the truth about senior year. Coming into this school year I had the mindset that this would be my easiest year yet, and boy was I mistaken. No one tells you how difficult it is taking multiple college classes a semester along with your high school classes, applying for colleges and scholarships and choosing what you want to study and where you want to go, all within a timespan of nine months.

My advice for any underclassmen who are approaching their senior year: make sure to really take in the whole high school experience. Attend the sporting events, join the different clubs and teams, go to homecoming and prom and go out with your friends on the weekends. Don’t sit at home and do nothing because I promise you, no one is too cool to do these things and you will regret it if you don’t take advantage of these opportunities. Some of my best memories in high school were made cheering at football and basketball games, dressing up for homecoming week and getting all dressed up for prom.

Another thing no one really tells you, SENIORITIS IS A REAL THING. Don’t let it get the best of you. Your grades still matter all the way up until the end of the year, even if you have been accepted by a college already. Don’t just do the bare minimum to get by, even though I know how hard it is to fight procrastination. At the end of senior year, literally all the motivation you have will leave your body and will likely never come back. It happens to all of us, don’t worry.

Senior year is an incredibly emotional year that comes with so many “lasts.” From your last first day of school, to your last high school football game, to your last prom. These are the big things, but you’ll never understand until you live it how hard it is to say goodbye to your teammates and the sport you love forever once the season comes to an end, or how hard it is cleaning out your locker and driving out of the parking lot one last time. I can’t even imagine how hard it will be, and how many tears I will shed after I walk across the stage and have to say goodbye to my lifelong friends. I can not stress enough to make the absolute most of the time you have left in high school with these people. I still can’t really say I’m ready to graduate and for it to be over, but it’s happening. Hopefully I left my mark on Sterling High School, because it has definitely left its mark on me.

